Port Authority

The Port Authority began in 1976 with a small group of men and women willing to donate their time to better the business climate of Jefferson County.  As the years went by, these members consistently applied their time and talents to further develop the entire eastern border of Jefferson County that was bounded by the Mississippi River.  

Historically, there had been two major problems to development:  availability of land and viable transportation to nearby Interstate-55.   When the City of Herculaneum received a grant to build a connecting bridge to reach I-55, the project suddenly took on new life.   Soon after, a major land owner, Doe Run Lead Company, began to study alternate production methods that would require a smaller footprint for their operations, thus freeing up some availability to the riverfront property.   At this point, the Jefferson County Port Authority made the smart move to become part of Doe Run's Feasibility Study by acting as a tagalong and broadening the scope of the study to cover various sites of interest on the river.

The Phase I Feasibility was a success, presenting viable opportunities for port activities in Jefferson County.  As hoped for by the founders in 1976, the perfect confluence of River, Rail, and Road began to form a vision of multiple ports comprising one multimodal Port System for Jefferson County.


  • 9:00 am
  • 2nd Wednesday of every month
  • Location of meetings are dependent on availability.

All meetings are subject to change. Please call the Port Authority at 636-232-0472 to confirm meeting time and location.


Members serve 3-year terms.

  • James Berberich, Republican - Term expires: Dec. 28, 2024
  • David Crump, Republican - Term expires: January 23, 2026
  • Jason Eisenbeis, Democrat - Term expires: July 11, 2025
  • Derrick Good, Republican - Term expires: January 23, 2026
  • Ted Ramsdell, Democrat - Term expires: January 25, 2026
  • Daniel Melchior, Democrat - Term expires: February 22, 2024
  • Rich Patterson, Republican - Term expires: Dec. 28, 2023
  • Alex Schwent, Republican - Term expires: July 11, 2025
  • Bill Seek, Democrat - Term expires: January 23, 2026